Tagged: Mexico


In just 30 days the 9th Coppa del Mondo della Gelateria (Gelato World Cup) will start and the jurors have finally been announced! The event, organized by SIGEPItalian Exhibition Group (IEG) and Gelato &Cultura, will take place from 19 to 21 January 2020 in the South Hall of Rimini Expo Center, during the 41st International Trade Show of Artisan Gelato, Pastry, Bakery and the Coffee World. If the names of the champions were already stimulating our taste buds, the announcement of the jurors is making the teams intensifying the preparations and the social cheering is going crazy. 

Below (in alphabetical order) the names of the members of the twelve teams in the race.

ARGENTINA: The team leader is Maximiliano Cesar Maccarrone, in the team Mariano Zichert, Pablo Nicolas Renes, Matias Dragun and Ruben Darre.

COLOMBIA: The team leader is Jonathan Nieto Hincapie, in the team Julio Alberto Mojica Bolaños, Laura Mojica, Nancer Giovanny Pabon Erazo and Jessica Ramos.

FRANCE: The team leader is Stephane Augé, in the team Fouchereau Franck, Lamy Adrien, Moudni Nabil and Hasselbein Yoann.

GERMANY: The team leader is Günter Single, in the team Alexander Glagla, Federico Sacchet, Francesco Carrer and Giovanni Finamore.

JAPAN: The team leader is Kanjiro Mochizuki, in the team Naomi Matsuo, Kkenichi Matsunsga, Kengo Akabame and Hiromi Nishikawa.

ITALY: The team leader is Giuseppe Tonon, in the team Marco Martinelli, Eugenio Morrone, Massimo Carnio and Ciro Chiummo.

MALAYSIA: The team leader is Au Yong Yung Yee, in the team Muhamad Rusmi Bin Che Dol, Siew Chee Wing, Jamaluddin Bin Zainal Abidin and Mustaffa Kamal Bin Othman.

MEXICO: The team leader is Gustavo Barbabosa, in the team Luis Sarmiento, Eduardo Suarez, Julio Cesar Moreno and David Miranda.

POLAND: The team leader is Alexandra Sowa-Trzebinska, in the team Robert Burkat, Michal Wiensniewski, Maciej Pieta and Mariusz Buritta.

SINGAPORE: The team leader is Ng Chee Leong, in the team Miller Mai, Pang Yoon Hwa, Jason Tan and Ng See Yian.

SPAIN: The team leader is Lluis Ribas Gaurdià, in the team Albert Soler, Albert Roca, Mayte  María  Teresa Rodríguez and Lluc Dalmau Val.

HUNGARY: The team leader is Renata Somogyi, in the team Sandor Kerekes, Nandor Gergely Bergmann, Josef Laszlo Somogyi and Zsolt Toth.

For the very first time we will see two female team leader (Alexandra Sowa-Trzebinska from Poland and Renata Somogyi from Hungary) and after years of alternate victories and participations, France and Italy will finally compete on the same stage!

The race will begin on Sunday, January 19th, 2020 and the award ceremony will take place on January 21th, 2020 at 4pm.

13 TECHNICAL JUDGES: the 12 team leader and Pier Paolo Magni as President of the Jury. On the field we will see three experienced technical commissioners: Sergio Colalucci, Sergio Dondoli and Gaetano Mignano.

PRESS JURY: 10 international journalists specialised in gelato, pastry and F&B: Emanuela Balestrino, Bernard Bedaridà,  Luis Concepción, Stefan Elfenbein, Manuela Rossi, Margo Schatcher, Yumi Hasegawa Picone, Mariarosaria Bruno, Victor Sokolowicz, Patricia Thomas will assign a special award to the best Gelato Cake.

ARTISTIC JURY: Lorena Gava (historic curator, Italy), Stephan Didier (MOF Chef, France) and Adolfo Romero (Gelato Champion, Spain) will assign a special award to the Final Grand Buffet.

Each team will include a gelato chef, a pastry chef, a chef de cuisine and an ice sculptor. The 12 team leaders will judge 8 race tests in 3 days (glass single-portion, mystery box, gelato-cake, entrée of haute cuisine, ice- and brittle- sculptures and the new trend of gelato snacks, in addition to the final Grand Buffet, which is the presentation of all the creations).

Fans and gelato-lovers can enjoy real-time updates on Facebook (the official profile is “Coppa Mondo Gelateria”) and on Instagram (@gelatoworldcup). The hashtag confirmed for the next edition is #CMG2020. 

The Committee of Coppa del Mondo della Gelateria is delighted to wish you sweet holidays with a historical recipe of Spicy Gelato, perfect to be tasted with a spicy tea and butter cookies: click here to download it and…be merry!


PLATINUM SPONSOR: Electrolux, PreGel, Valrhona
GOLDEN SPONSOR: Carpigiani, Sosa
SILVER SPONSOR: Borsci San Marzano 1840, Caffè Camardo, Ifi, Martellato, Medac
TECHNICAL SPONSOR: Azkoyen, Eurovo, Fapec, Granarolo, Parmigiano Reggiano, Sara Creazioni, Weker
MYSTERY SPONSOR: Azienda Agricola Galano Osvaldo, Borsci San Marzano 1840, Caffè Camardo, Granarolo, Jiangsu Xinpin Tea Co. LTD., Lotus Bakeries Italia s.r.l, Norohy, PreGel
SUPPORTER: Et Al., Erreenne, Sculture di ghiaccio Francesco Falasconi, Selmi, Paperlynen Pal Caps
MEDIA PARTNER: Punto IT, Pasticceria Internazionale