5 days left before the start of the 9th Coppa del mondo della Gelateria and unfortunately Hungary has announced its withdrawal. The names of the participants and the jurors also underwent some changes. In particular, Alíce Diaz replaces Luis Sarmiento (Mexico) and Ja Afar Bin Haji Mohamad Ghazali replaces Ng See Yian (Singapore). Natalia Mendoza will take the place of Patricia Thomas in the press jury.

The President of the Gelato World Cup, Giancarlo Timballo comments: “Unfortunately, these last minute variations are part of any international competition that sees the participation of such a large number of champions. On behalf of the Committee, I wish ‘good luck’ to the 11 finalist teams, now in Italy for the final rush.”

The event, organised by SIGEP – Italian Exhibition Group (IEG) and Gelato & Cultura, will take place from 19 to 21 January 2020 in the South Hall of Rimini Expo Centre, during the 41st International Trade Show of Artisan Gelato, Pastry, Bakery and the Coffee World. Cheering on social media is higher than ever, in every corner of the planet. Below (in alphabetical order) all the members of the eleven teams.

ARGENTINA: The team leader is Maximiliano Cesar Maccarrone, in the team Mariano Zichert, Pablo Nicolas Renes, Matias Dragun and Ruben Darre.

COLOMBIA: The team leader is Julio Alberto Mojica Bolaños, in the team Laura Mojica, Nancer Giovanny Pabon Erazo, Hamilton Sisa Traslaviña and Carlos Eduardo De Avila Diaz.

FRANCE: The team leader is Stephane Augé, in the team Fouchereau Franck, Lamy Adrien, Moudni Nabil and Hasselbein Yoann.

GERMANY: The team leader is Günter Single, in the team Alexander Glagla, Federico Sacchet, Francesco Carrer and Giovanni Finamore.

JAPAN: The team leader is Kanjiro Mochizuki, in the team Naoki Matsuo, Kenichi Matsunaga, Kengo Akabame and Hiromi Nishikawa.

ITALY: The team leader is Giuseppe Tonon, in the team Marco Martinelli, Eugenio Morrone, Massimo Carnio and Ciro Chiummo.

MALAYSIA: The team leader is Au Yong Yung Yee, in the team Muhamad Rusmi Bin Che Dol, Siew Chee Wing, Jamaluddin Bin Zainal Abidin and Mustaffa Kamal Bin Othman.

MEXICO: The team leader is David Miranda, in the team Alicia Díaz Chavez, Eduardo Suarez, Julio Cesar Moreno and Gustavo Barbabosa.

POLAND: The team leader is Alexandra Sowa-Trzebinska, in the team Robert Burkat, Michal Wisniewski, Maciej Pieta and Grzegorz Radajewicz.

SINGAPORE: The team leader is Ng Chee Leong, in the team Miller Mai, Pang Yoon Hwa, Jason Tan and Jaafar Bin Haji Mohamad Ghazali.

SPAIN: The team leader is Lluís Ribas Guardià, in the team Albert Soler Miquel, Albert Roca Badia, Mayte Rodríguez Gigante and Lluc Dalmau Vall.

12 technical judges: the 11 team leaders and Pier Paolo Magni as President of the Jury. On the field, we will see three experienced technical commissioners: Sergio Colalucci, Sergio Dondoli and Gaetano Mignano.

Press jury: 10 international journalists specialised in gelato, pastry and F&B: Emanuela Balestrino, Bernard Bedaridà, Luis Concepción, Stefan Elfenbein, Manuela Rossi, Margo Schatcher, Yumi Hasegawa Picone, Mariarosaria Bruno, Victor Sokolowicz and Natalia Mendoza will assign a special award to the best Gelato Cake.

Artistic jury: Lorena Gava (historic curator, Italy), Stephan Didier (MOF Chef, France) and Adolfo Romero (Gelato Champion, Spain) will assign a special award to the Final Grand Buffet.

Each team consists of a gelato chef, a pastry chef, a chef de cuisine and an ice sculptor. The 12 team leaders will judge 8 trials in 3 days (single-portion in a glass, mystery box, gelato-cake, entrée of haute cuisine, ice- and brittle- sculptures and the new trend of gelato-snacks, in addition to the final Grand Buffet, which is the presentation of all the creations).


Sunday 19.01.2020

  • First trial: Decorated tray (until 10: 50 am)
  • Second trial: Mystery Box – unveiling of Mystery ingredients, extraction of the boxes and start of Mystery Fruit/Cream trial
  • Mystery Fruit Presentation – 1:00 pm, until 2:50 pm
  • Mystery cream Presentation – 3:00 pm, until 4:50 pm
  • Award for ‘Best Decorated tray’ given at 5:00 pm, PreGel awards
  • Ice sculptures: teams 1 and 2 until 11:15 am, teams 3 and 4 until 2:40 pm, teams 5 and 6 until 6:00 pm (the teams will be drawn at the Arena at the start of the race)

Monday 20.01.2020

  • First trial: Single-portion in a glass – until 10:50 am
  • Second trial: – Entrée of haute cuisine – until 2:30 pm
  • Third trial: Gelato-Snack – until 5:20 pm
  • Ice sculptures: teams 7 and 8 until 11:10 am, teams 9 and 10 until 2:40 pm, teams 11 and 12 until 6:00 pm

Tuesday 21.01.20

  • First trial: Gelato cake – until 12:15 pm
  • Final Grand buffet: two teams per round starting at 1:30 pm, one shift every 10 minutes until 2:20 pm
  • 3:30 pm: end of the race (including box cleaning)
  • 4:00 pm: Award ceremony

Fans and gelato-lovers can enjoy real-time updates on Facebook (the official profile is “Coppa Mondo Gelateria”) and on Instagram (@gelatoworldcup). The official hashtag for this edition is #CMG2020.



PLATINUM SPONSOR: Electrolux, PreGel, Valrhona

GOLDEN SPONSOR: Carpigiani, Sosa

SILVER SPONSOR: Borsci San Marzano 1840, Caffè Camardo, Ifi, Martellato, Medac

TECHNICAL SPONSOR: Azkoyen, Consorzio del Formaggio Parmigiano Reggiano, Eurovo, Fapec, Granarolo, Sara Creazioni, Weker

MYSTERY SPONSOR: Azienda Agricola Galano Osvaldo, Borsci San Marzano 1840, Caffè Camardo, Granarolo, Jiangsu Xinpin Tea Co. LTD., Lotus Bakeries Italia s.r.l, Norohy, PreGel

SUPPORTER: Agribologna Et Al., Erreenne, Sculture di ghiaccio Francesco Falasconi, Selmi, Paperlynen Pal Caps, Reire

MEDIA PARTNER: Punto IT, Pasticceria Internazionale